Minutes: Feb. 12, 2024 Board Meeting

Minutes of the Feb. 12, 2024 Town of Eau Galle Board Meeting

*Minutes are unofficial until approved by the Town Board*

The regular monthly meeting was called to order by Town Board Chairman Lund at 7:00 PM at
the town hall.

Chairman Lund indicated that the notice of the meeting was posted as required by statutes and noted no additional items were added since the February Agenda was posted at the Town Hall and on the official Town website.

The Town Board members present were Kevin Larson, Amy Shafer, Stephanie Supri, and Jim Lund.

The agenda was approved as presented on a motion by Amy Shafer second by Kevin Larson, motion carried.

Minutes of the January 8, 2024 Town Board Meeting were approved on a motion by Kevin Larson second by Amy Shafer, motion carried.

Treasurer’s report, and bills were reviewed. Motion by Amy Shafer to approve the bills as presented second by Kevin Larson, motion carried.

Building and driveway permits were reviewed.

Clerk reviewed correspondence and emails.

Motion by Kevin Larson to approve the authorization of payment for mandatory Board of Review training for board members second by Amy Shafer, motion carried.

Town Board review and discussion of possible battery storage in the Town of Eau Galle. Board will continue to gather information and wait to hear from St. Croix County before making any decisions.

Motion by Amy Shafer to approve the Rezoning Request from Ag-1 to R-2 from Bruce Erickson for 47 acres in Section 16 second by Kevin Larson, motion carried.

Road Work:

  • Road signs have been ordered and replaced where they can be by the county.
  • Bridge repairs have been completed.
  • Road bans are on and the county states they will remain posted until spring.
  • Motion by Kevin Larson to approve St. Croix County Highway Department to collect and input data on the 6-20ft bridges and culverts in our jurisdiction second by Amy Shafer, motion carried.
  • Chairman Lund met with Robbie Krejci to discuss the ARIP application and distribution process. The first cycle will be $50 million with applications due on April 15, 2024. The second cycle will be $100 million due in October 2024. Hiring a grant writer was suggested to aid in receiving the grant. Motion by Amy Shafer to proceed in hiring a grant writer for the ARIP second by Kevin Larson, motion carried.
  • 20th Avenue (230th St to County Road BB) is the chosen road for the LRIP funds.
  • Noted that 30th Avenue is in rough shape, but not enough funds to replace/fix the road this year. Possible grinding and seal to save until next year.
  • A decision needs to be made at next months meeting in regards to what the Town will have the county do as far as mowing, spraying and seal coating.
  • Asphalt costs are up 4-5%.

Chairman’s Report:

Kevin and Amy both attended the Wisconsin Towns Association meeting. WTA will be conducting a survey for dangerous roads “Safe Streets for All”. The County will be adding a Safety Referendum to the April ballot. This will add 8 positions within the county that will aid in mental health, youth, etc. for a total of $896k.

Kevin attended the St. Croix County Corporate Council meeting on February 8, 2024. Towns expressed their concerns with residents not meeting compliance requirements. The county will be working on zoning amendments.

Three positions are expiring on the Planning Commission. Chairman Lund will follow up with Mike Ostlie, John Murtha JR and Heather McAbee to see if they’re still interested in the positions they currently hold.

Chairman Lund advised residents to be cautious when considering spring burning.

Public Comment/Open Forum:

Tim Stave announced he will discuss ATV/UTV signage at their meeting next month.

Discussion and inclusions/corrections were made to the Building Code Ordinance for Residential and Commercial 21-04. Follow up and more discussion/corrections will be made at the March meeting.

Date of Next Meeting:

The next regular monthly Board Meeting will be held on Monday, March 11, 2024 at 7PM.


Motion to Adjourn at 8:42PM by Kevin Larson second by Amy Shafer, motion carried.

Stephanie Supri
Town Clerk/Treasurer
Approved: 3/11/2024