Minutes: May 10, 2021 Board Meeting

Minutes of 05-10-2021 Eau Galle Board Meeting

*Minutes are unofficial until approved by the Town Board*

The regular monthly meeting was called to order by Town Board Chairman Lund at 7:00 PM at the town hall.

Chairman Lund indicated that the notice of the meeting was posted as required by statutes.

The Town Board members present were Kevin Larson, Amy Shafer, Jim Lund, and Nicole Olson.

The agenda was approved and posted on a motion by Amy Shafer second by Kevin Larson, motion carried.

Minutes of the 04-12-2021 Board Meeting were approved on a motion by Kevin Larson second by Amy Shafer, motion carried.

Treasurer’s report and bills were reviewed. Motion by Kevin Larson second by Amy Shafer to approve the monthly bills, motion carried.

The 2020 audit was discussed and reviewed. Town of Eau Galle received a passing grade. Motion by Amy Shafer second by Kevin Larson to accept the 2020 audit, motion carried.

Discussion occurred regarding purchasing a schedule bond for 2 years of coverage for the clerk/treasurer. A public official bond is required for town clerks/treasurers per Wis. Stat 60.31. Motion by Amy Shafer, second by Kevin Larson to purchase the same bond as previous years for $257.00 for 2 years of coverage. Motion carried.

Clerk reviewed correspondence and emails.

Building and Driveway Permits issued were reviewed.

Discussion continued regarding American Rescue Plan Act funds (ARPA). Board members reviewed the latest guidance provided by the WI Department of Revenue regarding the use of ARPA funds. More guidance is expected in the coming months. The Wisconsin Towns Association is holding a virtual summit June 23 to assist local officials to begin thinking about how to best invest ARPA funding.

Discussion occurred regarding updating office equipment at the town hall. Motion by Kevin Larson, second by Amy Shafer to spend $375.00 to update office equipment at the town hall.

The proposed Town of Eau Galle Comprehensive Plan 2020 was discussed. A public hearing was scheduled and will be held on Monday June 14, 2021 at 6:30 PM at the town hall to accept public comments on the proposed town plan.

Two members were appointed to the planning commission. Motion by Amy Shafer second by Kevin Larson to appoint Peter Heebink and Stephanie Supri to a two-year term on the planning commission. Motion carried.

Request for a driveway variance section 16 for Bruce Erickson was reviewed and discussed. Motion by Jim Lund second by Amy Shafer to approve the request for an additional driveway in section 16. Motion carried.

Road Work:

Flood damage on 222nd North of County Road N has been reported. The road will need to be repaired.

An ATV rider on 233rd created big ruts in the ditch. The ATV club has talked with the individual responsible and have reminded them to stay out of the ditches.

Chairman Lund provided a spreadsheet of road work/repairs that was submitted to the county for this year’s road projects.

Town needs to apply for LRIP soon and St. Croix County has requested a list of road work for 2022. Will be an agenda item next month.

Chairman Report:

Chairman Lund attended a meeting with United Fire and Rescue. United Fire has been asked to provide automatic aid to Spring Valley Fire Department because they are having issues getting people to show up for fire calls. Currently, United Fire and Rescue provides mutual aid to Spring Valley Fire Department.

Open Forum:

Tim Stave advised the ATV club is all for ATV riders obeying the laws and to please write down the plate number on any ATV that is in violation. The ATV club will turn them into the DNR.

A town resident wanted to know if there was a violation occurring at the property located at Highway 63 and County Rd N or if it possibly needed to be rezoned. Chairman Lund indicated he would contact the county and request an update.

Date of next meeting: Monday June 14, 2021 immediately following the adjournment of the public hearing or at 7:00 PM, whichever is later.

Motion to Adjourn at 7:55 PM by Amy Shafer second by Kevin Larson. Motion carried.

Nicole Olson

Approved: 06/14/2021